Skip to content
LocalASO

Comparison

ASO tools with MCP servers: which keyword tools your AI assistant can use

As of November 2026 the ASO tools with an MCP server that we could verify are LocalASO, Wow Keywords, Astro (beta), Dock, AppSprint, ASO Atlas, AppTweak, Sensor Tower and Keyword Tool; the local ones read a database on your Mac, and the cloud ones call the vendor's service.

That split matters more than the tool count. A local server reads data that already sits on your machine. A cloud server calls the vendor's service and is tied to the vendor's plan. The first step is to know what an ASO MCP server is; this page compares the options.

Updated

Local MCP servers (data on your Mac)

ToolHow it runs (as of November 2026)RequirementsNotes
LocalASOLocal stdio server that opens the same database as the appmacOS 14 or laterTools: board_get, board_add_keywords, keywords_check, competitors_get, listing_get; nothing leaves the Mac except public iTunes Search requests from rank checks
AstroLocal HTTP server, default port 8089, reads Astro's local databaseAstro running with MCP enabledLabelled beta; docs warn that MCP use can consume many tokens
DockExtension with 34 tools forwarding to the Dock app over loopbackmacOS 15 or later, Dock 4.1 or later, Dock runningCovers App Store Connect and Google Play listings, reviews and sales
Wow KeywordsMCP server listed on its siteNot stated in the text we readWorks with Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, Gemini, Cursor, Grok and Ollama
AppSprintMCP server with a setup guide and docs sectionMac app, paid subscriptionDetails not read beyond the guide

LocalASO also uses your own AI for its in-app suggestions (Claude Code, an Anthropic API key, Ollama, Codex or Gemini CLI), which is a separate feature from the MCP server.

Cloud MCP servers (vendor data)

ToolWhat the page says (as of November 2026)Condition
AppTweak"Connect AppTweak's data with any LLM or AI agent via our API MCP"Listed as MCP Access in the API plan comparison; Enterprise is custom
Sensor TowerA banner says its MCP Server is livePricing is by demo request; plan requirements not stated
Keyword ToolAn MCP server and API in every Pro planPro is the paid plan with search volume
ASO AtlasA command to add an MCP connection to Claude CodeWeb account; "Unlimited from $9/mo"

Apptopia also offers an MCP server, but its home page focuses on market-level consumer data, not day-to-day ASO keyword work, so it is not a direct comparison.

How to choose

  1. Privacy and offline work. Pick a local server. All of the local servers above run on your own machine.
  2. Market-wide data. Pick a cloud server: AppTweak and Sensor Tower are platforms built around vendor-held data, not only the apps you track yourself. See the AppTweak comparison and the Sensor Tower comparison.
  3. One-time cost. LocalASO and Wow Keywords have a lifetime price and an MCP server; the cost gap is in the one-time purchase comparison.
  4. Apple Ads popularity. Astro says it reads popularity from Apple Search Ads, and its MCP server exposes Astro's app data. LocalASO's numbers are estimates from ratings, not Apple's.
  5. Google Play in the same assistant. Dock's tools cover both stores. LocalASO is Apple's App Store only.

What an MCP server does not fix

An AI assistant reading keyword data still needs judgment. Volume and difficulty from rating counts are estimates; the search volume guide shows what they can support. An assistant can also make mistakes with the data, which is why Astro's own docs advise checking before strategic decisions.

Setting up LocalASO's server

LocalASO's installed app runs the MCP server itself, so you do not need Node. The client guides in the MCP section cover Claude Desktop, Cursor and Codex. The reference is the MCP docs.

When a cloud platform is the better choice

If you need data on competitors' historical rankings or apps across both stores for a team, a cloud MCP server on a platform plan such as AppTweak draws on the vendor's service rather than only the apps in your own database.

Next step

See how the LocalASO MCP server works, or check pricing for the one-time license that includes it.

Questions

What is an ASO MCP server?
It is a program that exposes an ASO tool's data and actions to an AI assistant through the Model Context Protocol, so Claude, Cursor or Codex can read keywords, rankings and competitors without copy and paste.
Do ASO MCP servers cost extra?
It depends. Keyword Tool says every Pro plan includes an MCP server. AppTweak lists MCP Access in its API plan comparison. LocalASO includes its MCP server with the app license.
Is a local MCP server more private than a cloud one?
A local server reads data stored on your own machine. LocalASO's server sends nothing off the Mac except the public iTunes Search requests that rank checks make.

Sources

Do this for every country, in minutes

LocalASO checks your rank, volume and difficulty for every keyword in 50+ App Store countries, in each local language. It runs on your Mac. $29 once, no subscription.