Comparison
Wow Keywords alternative: LocalASO vs Wow Keywords for App Store keyword research
LocalASO and Wow Keywords are both desktop apps that sell lifetime access to App Store keyword research, and as of November 2026 the main differences are price, device count and platform: LocalASO is $29 for one Mac, Wow Keywords is $99 for two computers and also has a Windows 11 beta.
Neither tool is the only one-time ASO app, and this page does not try to say one is better for everyone. If you are choosing between the two, use the table, then read the section on when Wow Keywords is the better choice.
Updated
Side by side
| Criterion | LocalASO | Wow Keywords (as of November 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Price model | $29 once, no subscription | $99 once, "no subscription", updates forever; price rises $10 for every 50 licenses |
| Devices | 1 Mac per license; a key can be redeemed once | 2 computers per license |
| Platform | macOS 14 or later, Apple Silicon and Intel; no Windows | macOS 14 or later; Windows 11 x64 in beta |
| App Store / Google Play | Apple App Store only | App Store; Google Play is not listed on the page we read |
| Storefront coverage | 52 storefronts, each in the local language | 52 App Store countries with native keywords |
| Keyword data source | Volume and difficulty are 0-100 estimates from the rating counts of ranking apps | Volume estimated from ratings of matching apps, not Apple search counts |
| Rank tracking | Rank next to volume and difficulty per keyword and country | Rank, volume, difficulty and daily rank history |
| Localization | Adapts keywords to each language, then checks each in its store | Gives each keyword a local phrase, then checks rank, volume and difficulty in that country |
| AI | Your own AI: Claude Code, an Anthropic API key, Ollama, Codex or Gemini CLI | Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, Gemini, Cursor, Grok or Ollama; no AI credits sold |
| API / MCP | Local MCP server | MCP server |
| Data location | Keywords, ranks and listings in a database on your Mac | Not stated in the text we read |
| Store upload | Draft upload to App Store Connect; never submits for review | Upload as a new or draft version; never submits |
| Refunds | All sales final | Not stated in the text we read |
| Best for | A solo developer who wants the lowest one-time price | A developer who wants two computers or Windows |
The approach to estimated volume is the same in both apps. Neither shows Apple's own search counts, and the search volume guide explains what a rating-based estimate can and cannot tell you.
What the price gap means
The difference is $70 today. Wow Keywords' page says its price rises by $10 after every 50 licenses, so the gap can widen as it sells more, while LocalASO's price is a flat $29. Over a longer horizon both are far below any monthly plan; the one-time purchase comparison puts them next to subscriptions.
When Wow Keywords is the better choice
- You work on two computers. One Wow Keywords license covers two; a LocalASO key activates one Mac.
- You use Windows. Wow Keywords lists a Windows 11 beta. LocalASO has no Windows version.
- Refunds matter to you. LocalASO sales are final. We did not verify Wow Keywords' refund terms, so read them on its site; they may suit you better.
When LocalASO is the better choice
- Price is the deciding factor. $29 once is the lowest one-time price we found among the Mac ASO apps in the Mac tools roundup.
- You keep one workstation. The second-computer allowance has no value to you.
What neither tool replaces
Both are for Apple's App Store. If you need Google Play data, team seats, historical market data or download estimates, look at the web platforms in the AppTweak or Sensor Tower comparisons instead. For MCP details across tools, see the MCP server comparison.
Next step
Check LocalASO pricing, read how the MCP server works, or read the docs to see the keyword board before you buy either license (the LocalASO download is free, but the app needs a license key to run).
Questions
- Is LocalASO the same product as Wow Keywords?
- No relationship is stated on either site that we found. They are separate products with similar features: both are desktop apps that sell lifetime access and research keywords in 52 App Store countries.
- Which is cheaper, LocalASO or Wow Keywords?
- As of November 2026 LocalASO costs $29 once for one Mac. Wow Keywords costs $99 once for two computers, and its page says the price rises $10 for every 50 licenses sold.
- Do both work with Claude Code?
- LocalASO includes an MCP server for AI tools and can also use Claude Code as its AI. Wow Keywords lists Claude Code among the agents it works with and also has an MCP server.
Sources
- www.wowkeywords.com (checked November 1, 2026)
Do this for every country, in minutes